General Posts

Did a fighter jet check out my quadcopter?

An SK60, used by the Swedish air force to train new fighter pilots.

An SK60, used by the Swedish air force to train new fighter pilots.

I had an unusual experience the other day. We were flying my quadcopter at a lake-side beach near the town where my parents grew up. It’s winter, other than a few people out for a walk there was no one else around. We were testing to see how high up we could get the quadcopter. At around 130 meters, a military jet suddenly roars past us. It came from the direction of the town at around the same height as the quad copter, did a small turn across the lake and disappeared in the distance.

My dad, who has an interest in the military, informed me that it was an SK60, a model used to train new pilots. There’s an air force base some 20 km from the town. While we have seen jets in the area plenty of times before, in 50 years of my family living in this town none of us had ever seen one flying that low over the rooftops before.

Was it checking out the quadcopter, or was it just a very rare coincidence? I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

