General Posts

Justifying the cost of a quadcopter

I received my quadcopter last week. I originally ordered the Phantom FC40 – a budget version with its own camera. I immediately cancelled it, and boy am I glad I did!

The Phantom 2 Vision+, which I ordered instead, comes with a gimball, which means the camera is stabilized. The quadcopter might bump and shake around up in the air, but the camera is steady as can be! It’s like it’s floating on air.

There are two comments people constantly make: “Omg that’s cool!” and “Why the heck would you pay that much for a toy?”

I don’t consider it a toy. As a hobby photographer with expensive camera gear, I consider it a new and unique camera. The fact that my “toy” comes with a price tag of £990 can be justified for similar reasons to why you would buy a new Nikon or Canon with lens for the same price. If I’m serious about taking photos and steady videos – without actually going to the 10 times more expensive professional selection of quadcopters – the Vision+ seemed like a perfect fit.

So here’s how I justify paying so much for a flying camera:

  • I didn’t buy it as a toy I’ll grow bored with. I bought it as a camera I might take out only once a month for special photo shoots.
  • I’ve always loved video editing, but for the past few years I haven’t felt inspired to film anything. This changes that!
  • I’ve always been fascinated with aerial photography.
  • It’s super cool and fun to fly!

The camera quality might not be that of an expensive digital camera. But the angle sure does make up for that! I’m hoping that by the end of the year – not to mention in years to come – I’ll get at least a few aerial shots worth putting in the portfolio 🙂

Leave a Reply

